DAVP empanels 17 new Community Radio Stations

The Directorate of Advertising and Visual Publicity (DAVP) has issued orders for provisional empanelment of three more Community Radio Stations with effect from May 1, 2015.  The orders were issued to Rathinavani Community Radio, Radio 7, and Radio Amity from Tamil Nadu, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh respectively.

Station manager of Kisan Radio in Bihar, Atul Shukla said,’’Ninty per cent of our area is covered with the rural population and is below poverty line.  Sometimes our Community Radio Station doesn’t have sufficient funds to operate the station, but now we are grateful to become DAVP empanelled station.”

Till date the total number of DAVP empanelled Community Radio Stations in India is 55 and there are 18 stations which are in pipeline, out of which application of 6 stations are complete while 12 stations need to complete their applications by submitting required documents.

See the list of documents required for DAVP Empanelment

Station incharge from Radio MGIRI in Maharashtra K V Rao said, “We waited for four months to get empanelled with DAVP. We think every Community Radio Station must be empanelled with DAVP as it is important for them to sustain financially.”

The applications of four Community Radio Stations for empanelment are pending with the Directorate as officials are yet to receive their GOPA renewal letters.

Expressing his views, Pradeepta Kumar from Radio Kissan, Odisha said,”We have received the ID and password from DAVP to download the advertisements and from now on, every time we will be receiving a SMS alert from them about the same.”

DAVP has empanelled a total of 17 Community Radio stations in this phase, a list of these stations can be seen below:

  1. Janadhwani CR, Karnataka
  2. VIT Community Radio, Tamil Nadu
  3. Radio Muskan, Odisha
  4. Desh Bhagat CR, Punjab
  5. Radio Chitkara, Punjab
  6. Avtar Radio, Punjab
  7. Thendral CR, Tamil Nadu
  8. Radio MGIRI, Maharashtra
  9. Kalanjiyam Samuga Vanoli, Tamil Nadu
  10. Mann Deshi Tarang Vahini, Maharashtra
  11. Voice of SOA, Odisha
  12. Radio Kissan, Odisha
  13. Kamalvani, Rajasthan
  14. Kisan Radio, Uttar Pradesh
  15. Rathinavani CR, Tamil Nadu
  16. Radio 7, Rajasthan
  17. Amity CR, Uttar Pradesh


Author: Nilofar, CRFC/ OneWorld