May 2015 to see launch of three new Community Radio Stations

The Wireless Planning & Coordination (WPC) wing of the Ministry of Communication and Information Technology released three new Wireless Operating License (WOL) to the organisations based in three states.

With this approval from the ministry, the number of Community Radio Stations in the country will increase to 183. The newly formed Community Radio stations will be set up in the states in Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh and Odisha.

The station manager of Sharda University, Shaheen Nazar said,” As we come under the category of educational institute, our main focus of programmes will be student oriented. We have students from more than 40 countries across the world and various regions of India.  We would also broadcast programmes on health issues as our huge area is enhanced with rural population.”

In the newly extension of Wireless Operating License, an education institute received one WOL in Uttar Pradesh while  non-profit organisations from Himachal Pradesh and Odisha received WOLs each respectively.

Dr S S Banolta from Himachal Harijan Kalyan Sanstha said that they have waited for five long years for getting a Community Radio licence and now they will broadcast ‘Pahadi’ programmes to promote horticulture and agriculture, as there area is covered with farmers’ community.

Currently, there are more than 25 cases which are still pending at WPC.

Newly formed radio station “Radio Surbhi” of Indian Institute of Education and Care is located in Daspalla in Odisha, which is 130 kms away from Bhubaneswar. Their main aim is to promote local culture and tradition and they want to increase awareness among the rural community. Wireless Operating License (WOL) issued to 3 organisations are:

•    Himachal Harijan Kalyan Sanstha, Himanchal Pradesh
•    Sharda University, Uttar Pradesh
•    Indian Institute of Education and Care, Odisha

Author: Nilofar, CRFC/ OneWorld